Français

User Access

Instant Roofer - Sidebar Ad - Embed Calculator
METALCON - Side Bar - METALCON 2024: Metal Tradeshow Conference & Expo
Western Colloid - Sidebar Ad - FAAR Best Practices
Contractor Outlook - Sponsored by SRS
WSRCA - Side Bar - Western Roofing Expo 2024
RCS - Trends Survey - 2024 Sidebar ad
Rocky Mountain Snow Guards - Sidebar Ad - Show Us Your Snow Guards Contest! (2)
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!
English
English
Español
Français

So I hired a Mexican

« Back To Roofers Talk
Author

clvr83

My laborer was sick too often, so as soon as I started asking around, this guy randomly calls. 26 years old, couple years experience. Sure why not. Let's see it Jose.

So today is his first day and we are doing a vertical seam roof. I'm showing him how to snip the panels and I say "I think you might be the first Mexican we've every had working here." He replies "I was just about to tell you that I've never worked with American's before." :laugh:

He was actually born right here locally for the record.

Young feller, good attitude, seems to learn fast. I've hired two other guys in the past year that have really changed my attitude about the labor pool. This guy may be the third. If I keep this up and I just might have to try to run two crews again.

December 6, 2022 at 6:47 a.m.

johnchris

It sounds like you got lucky with your new hire! It’s always great to find someone who is willing to learn and has a good attitude. It’s even better that he was born locally and has some experience already. It definitely sounds like he is going to be a valuable asset to your team. With this kind of luck, you may be able to start running two crews again. Good luck and enjoy the journey! (https://vanityroofing.ca)

March 3, 2016 at 5:48 a.m.

clvr83

Same here. I refuse to sub out roofs.