User Access

Instant Roofer - Sidebar Ad - Embed Calculator
Contractor Outlook - Sponsored by SRS
RCS - Trends Survey - 2024 Sidebar ad
ABC Supply - Sidebar Ad - Siding solutions for any style
Elevate - Sidebar Ad - Nobody covers you better
Polyglass - Sidebar - Polystick XFR - July
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!
English
English
Español
Français

Shut down costs related to insurance claims

« Back To Roofers Talk
Author

Sixsigmacontracting

I have a commercial project involving six trades on a hail damage claim. I am a general contractor in Montana and I am not sure if the shut down expense of the three businesses affected should be added to the scope of my bid? Or is the shut down costs something the insurance company handles directly with the insured?

The reason I am involved is because we have two equipment bays on the roof that have to be off loaded so we can replace the TPO. The duration of that aspect of the job will directly affect how long those three businesses will be out of operation.

Dear Mr Roofer/ arrogant dumb ass. If that was my goal I would not pose the question. The fact is my initial adjuster told me to include shut down costs into my scope. I was ambivalent about the veracity of this issue. I have never had this issue before and a friend suggested this forum. No need to show the world what a jerk you are....just add value to the conversation, but evidently your ego is to fragile for that.

As my father once told me, "better to be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt", but now at least we know what you are :)

August 19, 2016 at 12:02 a.m.

Mike H

A roofer should have a little tougher skin than evidenced by the edited OP, but I'll at least answer the question in an effort to be somewhat helpful to a forum newbie....