User Access

Instant Roofer - Sidebar Ad - Embed Calculator
SRS - Sidebar Ad - SRS Para Latinos
Owens Corning - Sidebar - Roofle + OC - June
ABC Supply - Sidebar Ad - Siding solutions for any style
RoofSnap - Sidebar Ad 250x265 - Free Roof Measurements
Western Colloid - Sidebar Ad - FAAR Best Practices
RCS - Trends Survey - 2024 Sidebar ad
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!
English
English
Español
Français

Looking for best alternatives to match wood shake roof? and best performence.

« Back To Roofers Talk
Author

Artie

I am a roofing contractor in california and need some advices for roofing products to match wood shake. looking for best roof materials. Thanks in advance for your help. Artie

February 21, 2010 at 12:59 p.m.

egg

In Ca you can get fire-treated shakes in either Class B or C flavors. We have to take the B rated shakes up to an A-rated assembly by adding a retardant layer prior to felting. They are expensive but the good thing about them is that since so few shakes are installed anymore the quality of the material available is quite good. We did two large projects with them last year.

February 21, 2010 at 7:51 a.m.

copperman

Being he's from California I bet he can't use cedar anymore due to fires. So wood products are out. Alum. shakes look like crap to me. so my best suggestion is a heavy weight comp shingle. Nothing really looks like a wood shingle roof then a wood shingle roof so their is not much choice. You may be able to use fire treated wood shakes. I think they come with a class C rating but are very costly if I recall. About twice the price of regular wood shakes.

February 12, 2010 at 10:43 a.m.

Old School

I like slate myself!

February 12, 2010 at 9:35 a.m.

aaron1