User Access

Instant Roofer - Sidebar Ad - Embed Calculator
Owens Corning - Sidebar - Roofle + OC - June
WSRCA - Side Bar - Western Roofing Expo 2024
Pli-Dek - Sidebar - Only the Best - June
Polyglass - Sidebar - Polystick XFR - July
SRS - Sidebar Ad - SRS Para Latinos
RCS - Trends Survey - 2024 Sidebar ad
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!
English
English
Español
Français

Done With this topic

« Back To Roofers Talk
Author

insprojohn

Hello Everyone. I am done talking about this issue.>>>

September 24, 2009 at 7:00 p.m.

insprojohn

Well I was an insurance agent/underwriter for 15 years. With the exception of one time in my life when I had the cheapest price in FL on a mandatory product for certain businesses to keep there occupational license the insurance field was a "Dead End" job for me.

So I decided that I wanted to become an adjuster. I got an adjuster's license but I did not know anything about construction or how to assess damage. Then someone told me that I should go sell roofs as it will teach me about roofing, gutters, drywall, painting, siding, and general exterior damage.

I have hoped to work as an adjuster but I do not believe that I will ever get the call from Independents unless they are "hard up" and then anyone with a license will get hired.

I have found selling roofs to be easy for me because I see it as an insurance sale. Unfortunately I have worked for a few scumbags that either never paid me or did not pay me or cheated me. So I do not want to prevent myself from being able to take an adjuster job if it were ever offered to me. But I am considering working for a Public Adjuster because I can honestly say that I do not like the insurance industry. I have a short term need for money so that I can achieve long term goals.