User Access

Instant Roofer - Sidebar Ad - Embed Calculator
Everroof-RoofingFundamentalsGiveaway-Sidebar
RCS - Trends Survey - 2024 Sidebar ad
Malco Tools - Sidebar Ad - Metal Benders
NFBA - Sidebar Ad - Accredited Builder
Westlake - Sidebar Ad - Special roofing that rises above it all
Duro-Last New Membrane Colors Sidebar ad
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!
English
English
Español
Français

Cap metal

« Back To Roofers Talk
Author

Robby the Roofer

Can anyone tell me what the standard over lap for cap metal at the perimeter of a flat roof?>>>

July 19, 2009 at 6:20 p.m.

Robby the Roofer

As a Quality Control Manager, my job is to ensure every piece has been installed right. Some situations I know that I am right and when challenged, I research until my answer is proven right. I was recently challenged by a salesman that a 1/2 minimum to 2 inch over lap on the cap metal is acceptable (cap metal to cover a 2 x 2 curb). And I did not agree.

>>>

July 18, 2009 at 3:44 p.m.

CIAK

Rob If you have been challenged and past the test. What is the problem ? Was it a roof consultant or some other official entity ? Is there a system code or instructions that you are questioning ? 4" is more than adequate . I guess I missed the meaning of your question. >>>

July 18, 2009 at 3:30 p.m.

Robby the Roofer

It is a flat roof with a 2 x 2 and cant strip...The torch will terminate over and to the outside of the 2 x 2 perimeter. I have always ran the overlaps on the cap metal minumum 4-6 inches, I have been challanged that it is too much over-lap and 2 inches is aceptable.>>>

July 18, 2009 at 10:57 a.m.

Jed

CIAK Said: Forget all the opinions go to RAS133 here is a link [url]http://www2.iccsafe.org/states/Florida3rdDraft2007/test_protocols/PDFs/Roofing%20Application%20Standard%20No%20133.pdf[/url] if you get questioned and you say butt so and so told me or yada yada it wont matter use this link .