User Access

Instant Roofer - Sidebar Ad - Embed Calculator
Uniflex - Sidebar - Sales Reps
RCS - Trends Survey - 2024 Sidebar ad
Owens Corning - Sidebar - Roofle + OC - June
SRS TopShield - Sidebar Ad - CraftGrade Independence
Readyslate Sidebar Ad
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!
English
English
Español
Français

What is your tactic to collect payment?

« Back To Roofers Talk
Author

Robby the Roofer

As a QC Manager, my job intells collecting payment at time of completion/inspection. Customers usually had 1 to 3 days untill the final inspection where I would ensure them the integrity of the roof, then recieve payment. I had a couple of customers use insurance payment as a delay tactic, never did have to file a lean as they paid within the week. Was only forced to get heated with a new construction contracter once, but he already new what was coming after dodging phone calls for a couple of weeks, he finally paid.

August 1, 2010 at 10:27 p.m.

Verified

I once lined my crew up on the ridge line with a trailer parked in the driveway to start removing "my" shingles...then i knocked on the door to inform the 60 days late homeowner that i was repossesing my material he hadnt paid for. He quickly wrote a check..which BTW was good. ;) This week i had one was 45 days late which they are selling the house. I gave them 30 days to pay because was supposed to close in two weeks. Something went wrong as is the norm for closings and it didnt close. I told them i would work with them and let them make payments but after no check and no answering my phone calls I left them a voicemail that said i would reposses my shingles and file a lein for my labor putting them on and taking them off. They called back and apologized for being busy and said the check would be in the mail for 1/3 payment on monday. We will see ;)

August 1, 2010 at 6:34 p.m.

RavenRoofing