English
English
Español
Français

User Access

Instant Roofer - Sidebar Ad - Embed Calculator
Rocky Mountain Snow Guards - Sidebar Ad - Show Us Your Snow Guards Contest! (2)
Contractor Outlook Newscast - Curtis McDonald
RCS - Sidebar - L&L contest
RCS - Trends Survey - 2024 Sidebar ad
Duro-Last New Membrane Colors Sidebar ad
Progressive Materials - Sidebar - Free Samples
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!
English
English
Español
Français

Do you pay your employees enough?

« Back To Roofers Talk
Author

seen-it-all

In 1977 I was a front end loader operator at $5.75 an hour. Minimum wage was $3.50 an hour. Bought a house for $27,500 with a 10%downpayment of $2750.00.

The downpayment cost me about 478 hours of labour at $5.75 an hour or about 772 hours at minimum wage of $3.50 an hour.

In 2009 the same house costs about $315,000 with a downpayment of $31,500.

If the $31,500 downpayment costs 478 hours of labour for a machine operator in 2009 he should be making $65.90 an hour and 772 hours at minimum wage should be $40.80 an hour.

Minumum wage is now $8.00 an hour and a front end loader operator would be lucky to make $25.00 an hour (actual rate around $21.76 an hour)>>>

September 15, 2009 at 9:38 p.m.

TomB

PC; I agree...moslty...we're just spouting two different topics in one here.....There were the same idiots back then as there are now......I was sticking with the wages compared to expenses these days, as compared to years past.....It's true; If your savvy and make wise decisions you'll make out....If your wastefull and stupid, you won't ever get ahead, no matter how much you made....However, TODAY, the cards are most definitely stacked against the "worker-bee"....>>>

September 15, 2009 at 8:07 p.m.

TomB